When Music Sounds

Released in 2000, WHEN MUSIC SOUNDS takes the listener on a journey of cultural diversity through a repertoire of 23 songs for women’s voices. We begin at home with works by prominent Canadian composers Ruth Watson Henderson, Eleanor Daley, Ramona Leungen, and David MacIntyre, and then travel musically to five other nations.

Track Listings

1 Come, Ye Makers of Song Ruth Watson Henderson canadian_flag 2:43
2 When Music Sounds Ruth Watson Henderson canadian_flag 3:23
3 Salve Regina
Lynn Janes, soprano
Susan Lewczynski, alto
Ramona Leungen canadian_flag 6:11
4 Ave Maria David MacIntyre canadian_flag 2:50
5 My Heart Soars
Gillian Howard, oboe
Ruth Watson Henderson canadian_flag 3:00
6 Rise Up, My Love Eleanor Daley canadian_flag 1:31
7 Psalm 100 Ruth Watson Henderson canadian_flag 1:52
8 Noël des enfants Claude Debussy 2:46
9 Tota Pulchra Es 
Lynn Janes, soprano
Maurice Durufle 1:57
10 The Lord Is My Shepherd Franz Schubert 5:11
Song of Survival
11 i) Bolero Maurice Ravel
(arr. Norah Chambers)
12 ii) Largo Antonin Dvorak
(arr. Margaret Dryburgh)
13 iii) Minuet Ludwig van Beethoven
(arr. Margaret Dryburgh)
14 Reel à Bouche
Lynn Janes, soprano
arr. Malcolm Dalglish 2:41
15 Il est bel et bon Pierre Passereau 1:12
16 See the Gipsies arr. Zoltan Kodaly 2:03
Three Maritime Songs Ruth Watson Henderson canadian_flag 11:04
17 i) Johnny’s Gone A-Sailing 2:04
18 ii) When I Was In My Prime 4:49
19 iii) Nell Flaherty’s Drake
Lynn Janes, soprano
Gillian Howard, oboe
Three Mountain Ballads arr. Ron Jeffers 8:26
20 i) He’s Gone Away 2:52
21 ii) Will He Remember 2:27
22 iii) Barbara Allen 3:07
23 A Jubilant Song
Lynn Janes, soprano
Norman Dello Joio 6:39
Total Time 77:20
canadian_flag Canadian Composer